Article Photo

Preseason Statewide Boys Swimming Coaches Polls

OSAAtoday is thrilled to present its preseason statewide Boys Swimming Coaches Polls in all classifications. We asked coaches to rank teams based on a projection of how they would fare at the state meet. Thanks to all the coaches who took the time and had the expertise to contribute their opinions to this endeavor.

Look for the polls only periodically during the winter season, as we are not informed by more regular scrutiny given the sport’s structure.

Boys swimming


1. Jesuit

2. Sunset

3. Central Catholic

4. Lakeridge

5. Westview

6. Lake Oswego

7. South Eugene

8. Sherwood

9. West Linn 

10. Southridge

Also receiving significant votes: BeavertonSouth Salem, McMinnvilleNewbergCentury

Notes: Jesuit will go for its fifth consecutive title. Sunset has finished runner-up the last two seasons. The classification gets a boost with the addition of 5A powers Summit and Bend, teams that won seven and two state titles, respectively. Jesuit senior Trent Martinez won the 200 and 500 freestyle races the last two seasons; Mountain View senior Griffin McKeany comes up from 5A, where he won titles in the 200 freestyle and 100 breaststroke last season and the 200 individual medley and 100 breaststroke in 2017.


1. Springfield

2. Corvallis

3. North Eugene

4. Parkrose

5. North Bend

6.  Lebanon

7. Wilsonville

8. Hillsboro

9. Silverton

10. Crescent Valley

Notes: Bend, which won its second title in three years last season by outpointing Lebanon 53-42, has moved to 6A, as has seven-time 5A champion Summit. But North Bend, the 4A runner-up last season, moves up.


1. Newport

2. La Grande

3. Salem Acad.

4. Sweet Home

5. Phoenix

6. Cottage Grove

7. Marshfield

8. Henley

9. Cascade Christian

10. Philomath

Also receiving significant votes: TillamookNyssa

Notes: The classification has had six different team champions in the last six years. Newport outscored runner-up North Bend 74-48 last year. Nyssa senior Nathan Esplin (200 freestyle, 100 butterfly) and La Grande senior Garren Dutto (100 freestyle, 100 backstroke) are reigning champions in multiple events. Dutto won the 500 freestyle as a sophomore.