Newberg was the highest-scoring traditional team in 2023. The Tigers won their 10th state title.
Newberg was the highest-scoring traditional team in 2023. The Tigers won their 10th state title.

If you were to look at the list of champions from this year's OSAA cheerleading championships, you may think you’re looking at the 2022 results.

That is because five of the eight champions from 2023 also won their divisions in 2022. Although these powerhouse programs took home another win, many of their competitors gave them a run for their money.

In the 4A/3A/2A/1A division, Rainier remained in the top spot scoring 93.90, but Santiam Christian was a very close second scoring 93.70. Yamhill-Carlton finished third and South Umpqua was fourth. Santiam Christian also won the Leslie Maley Creative Choreography Award and Yamhill-Carlton won the Kim Hunter Positivity Award.

The 4A division was another close division before deductions. Gladstone and Sweet Home’s raw score was less than a point apart. After deductions, Gladstone remained the champion scoring 102.40 and Sweet Home was second with 92.30. Third place went to The Dalles, fourth place went to Newport and fifth place went to North Bend. The Dalles and North Bend are newcomers to this division; they competed in the 5A division before. Gladstone also was awarded the Leslie Maley Creative Choreography Award.

The 5A division wasn’t as close with Lebanon remaining in the top spot scoring 101.60. Ridgeview was second scoring 95.60. South Albany placed third, Caldera placed fourth, and West Albany was fifth. This was Caldera’s first time competing at the OSAA championships 

Westview remained in the top spot by winning in the 6A Large division with 107.20 points. The close call in this division was between the next two teams: West Linn and Aloha. West Linn took home second place with 100.30 and Aloha was a close third with 100.10.

The Co-ed division wasn’t as close as others. McMinnville won with 106.20 and Tualatin was second with 104.10. Redmond was third place, Oregon City was fourth place and Crater was fifth place. Redmond also won the Leslie Maley Creative Choreography Award. 

The highest traditional routine score of the day was awarded in the 6A Small division to repeat champion, Newberg, with 108.50 points. The next three placements were very close. Lakeridge was second with 98.80, Sherwood was third with 98.60 and David Douglas was fourth with 98.50. Lake Oswego was fifth place. Sherwood also won the Leslie Maley Creative Choreography Award. 

The new Game Day divisions were so close that there were two ties. In the 4A/3A/2A/1A Game Day division, Scio was the champion. Westside Christian was second place and Creswell was third place. In the 6A/5A Game Day division, Central and Thurston were crowned co-champions. Third place was awarded to both Grants Pass and Gresham. West Salem was fifth place. 

The OSAA awarded 34 trophies at the 2023 championships. Only 22 were awarded in 2022. There were more teams competing at this championship than any other championship in history.

Although there were many repeat winners in 2023, there were also newcomers, teams in new divisions and teams that have not been to a state championship for many years. Whether or not a team went home with a trophy, they are all winners for making it through the injuries, illnesses and other obstacles that affected so many throughout the season.