



May 12, 2021

TO: Superintendents, Principals, and Athletic Directors

FROM: Brad Garrett, Assistant Executive Director

SUBJECT: OSAA Football Ad Hoc Advisory Committee Update

The Football Ad Hoc Committee conducted a closed work session on Monday, May 10, 2021 via Zoom Conference to discuss placement recommendations for the Fall 2021 season.

After receiving no public testimony, the OSAA staff reviewed five pieces of correspondence that were provided to the Committee prior to the meeting.

OSAA staff began by reviewing the correspondence received since the last meeting. Two schools did request that the Committee review their current classification placement and the group spent considerable time in reviewing their past discussions and procedures related to this type of request.

There is consensus amongst the Committee that granting a one year play down exception is contrary to the goal of creating two-year home and away cycles and moving the teams would also impact teams and schedules in both leagues, the one they are leaving and the one they would be placed in. Both schools do have alternatives available including the options to play an Independent schedule, play a league JV schedule, or look for cooperative sponsorship opportunities. Given the above the group was unanimous in not supporting any additional school movements.

The group will recommend that the OSAA Executive Board adopted the attached school placements for Football in the Fall of 2021. The recommended allocations are outlined in the table below.

Classification	Qualifiers	Allocation Method
6A	32	3 teams per SD, plus 11 via rankings
5A	16	3 teams per SD, plus 4 via rankings
4A	16	SD 1,2,5 (3 teams) and SD 3,4,6 – (2 teams), plus highest ranked #3 between SD 3 and 4
3A	16	SD1 – 6 teams, SD2 – 6 teams, and SD-3 – 2 teams, plus 2 via rankings
2A	16	3 teams per SD, plus 1 via rankings
1A		TBD

Recommended Allocations/Bracket Structure (see attached League/Special District recommendations)

The OSAA staff will provide a Committee update, like this one, to all superintendents, principals, athletic directors, andfootball coaches following each meeting. The Committee roster, charge, and any additional committee information is available at http://www.osaa.org/governance/committees.

Written suggestions and proposals should be emailed to the OSAA at <u>bradg@osaa.org</u>. Any communication received by the OSAA will be shared with all committee members for review and discussion.

Football AdHoc Advisory Proposed 2021 OSAA Football (as of May 10)

6A-SD1 Special District 1

Cleveland Franklin Grant Jefferson Lincoln Madison Roosevelt Wilson

6A-SD2 Special District 2 Aloha Beaverton Jesuit Mountainside Southridge

6A-SD3 Special District 3

Century Glencoe Liberty McMinnville Newberg Sherwood

Sunset

Westview

6A-SD4 Special District 4

Adrienne Nelson Barlow Centennial Central Catholic Clackamas David Douglas Gresham Reynolds Sandy

6A-SD5 Special District 5

Lake Oswego Lakeridge Oregon City Tigard Tualatin West Linn

6A-SD6 Special District 6

Bend

Caldera (2021 JV Only) McNary Mountain View South Salem Sprague Summit West Salem

6A-SD7 Special District 7

Grants Pass North Medford Roseburg Sheldon South Medford

5A - Special District 1

Hood River Valley La Salle Prep Parkrose *Pendleton / Nixyaaii Putnam Redmond Ridgeview The Dalles

5A - Special District 2

Canby (6A) Forest Grove (6A) Hillsboro McKay (6A) North Salem Scappoose St. Helens Wilsonville

5A - Special District 3

Central Corvallis Crescent Valley Dallas Lebanon Silverton South Albany West Albany

5A - Special District 4

Ashland Churchill Crater Eagle Point North Bend South Eugene (6A) Springfield Thurston Willamette

4A - Special District 1

Astoria Banks Milwaukie/Milwaukie AOA (5A) Seaside Tillamook Valley Catholic

4A - Special District 2

Crook County (5A) Estacada Gladstone Madras Molalla North Marion

4A - Special District 3

Cascade Newport Stayton Sweet Home Woodburn

4A - Special District 4 Cottage Grove Elmira Marist Catholic Marshfield

North Eugene (5A)

4A - Special District 5 Henley

Hidden Valley Klamath Union Mazama North Valley Phoenix

4A/3A - Special District 6 Baker

Burns La Grande

*McLouglin/Griswold

Nyssa Ontario Vale

COLOR KEY	
	Required/Elected to Move Up
	Play Down Confirmed
	AdHoc Survey Placement Request

Proposed 2021 OSAA Football (as of May 10)

Football AdHoc Advisory

3A - Special District 1

Amity Blanchet Catholic Clatskanie Corbett (4A) Dayton Philomath (4A)

Rainier Scio

Taft

Warrenton

Willamina Yamhill-Carlton

3A - Special District 2

Brookings-Harbor Cascade Christian Douglas Harrisburg

Junction City (4A)

La Pine Pleasant Hill Santiam Christian

Sisters (4A)

Siuslaw (4A) South Umpqua St. Mary's, Medford Sutherlin

4A/3A - Special District 3

Baker Burns La Grande *McLouglin/Griswold Nyssa

Ontario Vale

2A-SD1 Special District 1 Gaston Knappa Neah-Kah-Nie Nestucca Portland Christian

2A-SD2 Special District 2

Colton Culver Gervais Kennedy Regis Salem Academy Santiam

Sheridan

Vernonia

2A-SD3 Special District 3

Central Linn Creswell (3A) Jefferson Lowell Monroe Oakland Oakridge Toledo

2A-SD4 Special District 4

Bandon Coquille Glide Illinois Valley Lakeview Reedsport Rogue River

2A-SD5 Special District 5

Grant Union Heppner Irrigon (3A) Riverside (3A) Stanfield Umatilla (3A) Weston-McEwen

Independent Teams (Not Assigned) Chemawa

* = Cooperative sponsorship currently not approved. Schools must submit coop application

1A-SD1 Special District 1

Bonanza (2A) Camas Valley Chiloquin Days Creek Falls City / Kings Valley Charter Glendale Gold Beach (2A) Hosanna-Triad School Lost River (2A)

Mohawk Myrtle Point (2A) North Douglas Perrydale St. Paul Waldport (2A) Yoncalla

1A-SD3 Special District 2

Adrian Cove Crane Dufur Elgin Enterprise (2A) Imbler Ione / Arlington Lyle / Wishram / Klickitat (2A) Pilot Rock (2A) Powder Valley Sherman Union (2A) Wallowa

1A-SD3 [6] Special District 3 [6-player] Alsea

Butte Falls Crow Eddyville Charter Elkton Gilchrist Jewell Mapleton McKenzie North Lake Powers Prospect Charter Riddle Siletz Valley Triangle Lake

1A-SD4 [6] Special District 4 [6-player]

*Dayville / Monument Echo Harper Huntington Joseph Mitchell / Spray / Wheeler Pine Eagle

*Prairie City / Burnt River South Wasco County