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Calling the Block/Charge, Getting it Right 
Part 3: What Can a Defender with LGP Do? 

 
Once a player has obtained LGP, the requirements in Rule 4-23-2 (2 feet on the floor and facing) no longer apply. 

The defender may move. 

Movement can be in ANY direction provided it is not toward the opponent at the time of contact. A 
defender maintains LGP even while moving toward the opponent if the movement toward the opponent 
stops before contact. 

There is often confusion on what toward the opponent means. 

A defender moving only side-to-side, relative to the opponent’s position, or any degree of backwards 
movement who takes contact in the chest is not moving toward the opponent. A defender moving 
side-to-side or even slightly backwards where contact occurs on the defender’s leading side is moving 
toward the opponent. 

Here is an easy way to visualize it…Imagine the offense magically stopping just before contact. If the 
defender’s continued movement would create contact, the defender is moving toward the opponent. 
If not, and the defender would slide across or away from the point where contact would occur the 
defender is not moving toward the opponent. 

A defender with LGP is never required to be stationary, even with an airborne opponent. 

For an airborne opponent, the rules only require that the defender be “in the path” prior to the 
opponent leaving the floor. Adjusting from a position contact where contact is going to occur 3-4” 
right of center to a position where contact occurs 3-4” left of center does not make the defender lose 
LGP. However, adjusting from a position where the contact would be a brush on the shoulder (not in 
the path) to a position that puts the contact in the center of the chest (in the path) would not be legal. 

The defender may raise his/her hands---verticality. 

The defender has a right to raise his or her hands within his/her own vertical plain. Contact with the 
shooter’s hands in that space while the defender is raising his/her hands is not a foul on the defender. 

The defender may jump---verticality. 

A defender that jumps straight up is legal. If the defender jumps straight up and contact occurs above 
the jumping defender’s space, the defender has not committed a foul. 

It is not enough that the defender has his/her hands straight up while jumping if his/her body is 
moving forward. The defender must jump such that he/she would either land in the same spot from 
which he/she jumped (A to A, not A to B) or, possibly, farther away from the opponent. 

The defender may duck/turn. 

A defender, in NFHS rules, after obtaining LGP may turn sideways or even backwards and continue to 
be legal. A defender, in NFHS rules, after obtaining LGP may duck to avoid absorbing 100% of the 
impact…this includes fading backwards just before contact. The defender is not required to remain 
absolutely in place and take the contact. 


