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Calling Timeouts 
 
Coaches are allowed to leave the team box area and run down the sideline to get an officials’ 
attention to call a timeout.  However, they cannot go on the field.  This is not a Rule 9-8-1k 
violation.  This is most likely to happen when the ball is snapped inside the red zone. 
 
 
Kicking Ball 
 
Play:  Team A brings a "kicking ball" in when they attempt a PAT or Field Goal. The ball was 
one of the balls approved before the game but has not been "in use.” 
 
Ruling:  If Team A scores a TOUCHDOWN, the try is part of the same series.  If Team A 
attempts a FIELD GOAL, they must use the same kind of ball, leather or rubber, they have used 
in the other downs of the same series.  Use the game ball in play or a game ball that would 
normally be rotated into the game.  If Team B scores with Team A's ball (via interception, fumble 
recovery, blocked kick) then Team B can bring in any of their legally approved balls, leather or 
rubber, to use for the try.  Rule 1-3-1. Also look at Case Book play 1.3.2 Situation A (c). 
 
Comment:  There is NO such thing as a “kicking ball” in high school football.  Do not allow a 
different or specific “game” ball to be brought in for kicking situations.  The Referee, or his 
designee, needs to approve the game balls prior to the game.  Schools may submit any number 
of balls for approval, but there is nothing in the rules that requires all balls to be the same brand 
or model. 
 
Officials can grant a request to change from rubber to leather or vice versa only for a free kick or 
to start a series. If weather conditions warrant a switch, the officials can make a switch from one 
leather ball to another or from one rubber ball to another within a series.  Rule 1-3-3. 
 
We are also dealing with a culture that allows a different ball to be used for every play whether a 
new ball is actually needed or not, but that’s another topic for a future bulletin.  Let’s don’t get 
too picky with this one.  I wouldn’t delay a PAT for a ball person to dry off the ball used in the TD 
play just so the try could be attempted with the “same” ball.  Some common sense here, please!  
Remember the spirit and intent of the rule. 
 
 
Signals 
 
Question:  (From a Referee)  “In the Official Football Signals of the Federation Rules Book, we 
are instructed to "Face Press Box" for signals 29 and 35.  If I face the press box when I give the 
signal, how can the stadium announcer see my arm(s) behind my back?  Friday night, my back 
faced the press box when I gave signal 29.  Was I correct?” 
 
Answer:  You were incorrect to have your back facing the press box.  Face the press box and 
bend your elbows behind you at about a 45 degree angle behind you for signal 29.  Just like the 
encroachment signal except your palms are open; you don’t have to stick them all the way 
behind you!  The same for signal 35 except you’re only using one hand and it’s moving. 



Equipment Repair 
  
Play:  A10 leaves the field to correct faulty equipment. Prior to a play being run, Team A or B 
calls a timeout.  A10, with his equipment repaired, comes back onto the field. 
 
Ruling:  Legal.  If equipment repair requires the assistance of a team attendant or delays the 
ready-for-play whistle, a team may choose between removing the player for one down or taking 
a timeout and allowing the player to remain in the game. If the team is out of timeouts, the 
player must leave for one play. No delay of game penalty is assessed.  Rules 3-5-2b and 3-5-6. 
 
Comment:  Remember that equipment issues are different from injured players. An injured 
player MAY NOT “buy” his way back into the game with a timeout. 
 
 
Coach Disqualification – Rule 9-8-1 Violations 
 
Violations of Rule 9-8-1 are charged to the nonplayer that commits the infraction.  The only 
exceptions are 9-8-1g and 9-8-1h violations that have to do with the coin toss, being ready to 
start either half and equipment violations.  Those fouls are charged to the Head Coach. 
 
As an example, an assistant coach runs onto the field and loudly complains about an official’s 
call resulting in a flag for unsportsmanlike conduct.  These are Rule 9-8-1c, d and k violations 
and are charged to that coach.  Later in the game, more complaining and more objecting from 
the team bench area, a flag for unsportsmanlike conduct is thrown, but the perpetrator cannot 
be specifically identified.  This foul is then charged to the Head Coach, the theory being that the 
Head Coach is responsible for the conduct of his team box. 
 
Fouls against two different coaches cannot be combined for disqualification purposes. 
 
Remember also that Rules 9-8-1 and 9-8-3 are separate from Rule 9-4-8.  A foul under one rule 
does not affect the penalty for violations of the other rule. 
 
Please review several Case Book plays under 9.4.8 and 9.8.1. 
 
 
Training Video 
 
This week’s training video features a pass play that was called a touchdown by the covering 
official and then changed to an interception.  Several questions are raised for discussion 
purposes, but, bottom line, should the correct call have been an incomplete pass? 
 
The second training video features more plays from the Arizona Football Officials Association. 
Please view these plays for the action that is shown, noting that mechanics and philosophies 
may be different between Arizona and Oregon.   
 
Here’s the links. As always, remember to be signed in to Arbiter/Central Hub. 
 
http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/3465/5990  
 
http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/3466/5991   
 

http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/3465/5990
http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/3466/5991

