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Incomplete Pass

Question: Beyond the line of scrimmage, A85 jumps to receive a forward pass and, while still in
the air, tosses the ball back to A30 who muffs the backward toss. Since A85 did not contact the
ground before the toss, is the result an incomplete pass?

Answer: A85 did not make a catch because he never returned to the ground inbounds and
satisfied the definition of a catch. Rule 2-4-1. A85’s “tossing” of the ball is not a muff because
the act is intentional. Rule 2-27. Therefore, the only definition that A85’s action meets is a bat,
and Rule 9-7-3 tells us that a pass in flight may be batted in any direction. Therefore, when A30
muffs A85’s bat, you have an incomplete pass.

Extending the Period-Untimed Down

Play: Scrimmage kick (punt.) Before the kick crosses the LOS, K46 holds. After the change of
possession, on the runback, R59 blocks in the back. During the play, 3rd quarter time expires.

Ruling: R gains possession of the ball with clean hands, then fouls. If R declines K’s hold (to
keep the ball) and K accepts R’s IBB foul, then the period is extended for an untimed down after
penalizing R for the IBB. Rule 3-3-3a. If R accepts K’s hold and K accepts R’s IBB, then you have
a double foul and the down is replayed as an untimed down per Rule 3-3-3b.

Comment: The only difference will be the spot of the snap for the untimed down, and depending
where you are on the field, that could be an important consideration when discussing options!

Free Kick Out-of-Bounds

Play: We had a game with multiple fouls that were properly enforced against the receiving team
on a kickoff resulting in K kicking off from the R 30-yard line. The kickoff went out-of-bounds. We
gave Team R the choice of taking the ball at the inbounds spot, having K re-kick following a 5-
yard penalty, or taking the ball at the 15-yardline. Was this correct?

Ruling: In this case, the option to put the ball in play 25 yards beyond the previous spot is not a
half-the distance option. It is not a distance penalty, but, by rule, 25-yards from the previous spot.
Therefore, if the kickoff is from or inside the R 25-yard line, that option cannot be offered. Rule
6-1-9b and Penalty. Case Book play 6.1.9H.

Unsportsmanlike Conduct-Bad Language

When reporting an Unsportsmanlike Conduct foul for bad language to a coach, especially if the
player is disqualified, it is most helpful to quote exactly what the player said. It removes the issue
of whether or not there was a harsh judgment by the official. In effect, the player’s own words
caused the disqualification.



Helmet Covers

In 2012, the NFHS declared soft-shell helmet covers that were being marketed to reduce impacts
to the head as legal equipment. In July, 2013, NOCSAE issued a statement concluding the
addition of any after-market items to football helmets voids the certification of compliance with
NOCSAE standards. Since the NFHS and OSAA require all helmets to meet NOCSAE standards,
the use of helmet covers is illegal equipment as the cover modifies the helmet from the
manufacturer’s original design, intent, and/or production and is illegal under Rule 1-5-3c9.

Sideline Technology

Ipads and tablets are electronic equipment that may be used by coaches along the sideline during
the game or during a sideline conference with players. Electronic equipment may not be brought
out to players and used during a team timeout between the nine-yard marks. Please review Rules
1-6-1, 1-6-2 and several 1.6.1 Case Book plays.

Training Video

This week’s training video shows two plays with the second play having two views.

The first play shows Kick Catch Interference. The receiver signals late, but that does not absolve
the kicking team player from trying to avoid contact.

The second play shows an apparent interception by the defensive team in white jerseys. The
Line Judge defers to the Back Judge by pointing towards him. The Back Judge signals
touchdown, ruling a simultaneous catch by both the receiver and defender. The second view, a
wider view, shows several coaches of the defensive team out on the field. This is a clear example
of poor communication between the Line Judge and Back Judge and also a failure to observe
and penalize coaches who come onto the field to protest the call.

Here’s the link to both plays. Remember, you must be signed in to the Central Hub to view the
video.

http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/13796/16705



http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/Front/105991/Video/player/13796/16705

