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Illegal Participation 

Play:  1st and 10 at the A 20-yard line.  A88 is running down the sideline.  B22 pushes A88 out-of-bounds 

at the A 30-yard line.  Immediately (key word!) after the push, A12 passes to A88 who jumps in the air, 

catches the ball and lands inbounds and is tackled at the A 32-yard line. 

Ruling:  Legal catch. A88 is not guilty of Illegal Participation because he returned immediately from being 

out-of-bounds. He was not touching anything out-of-bounds when he caught the ball and landed inbounds, 

so this is a legal catch.  Rule 9-6-1. 

 

Kick Catch Interference 

Play:  Free kick. Team K is lined up legally.  Kicker K99 notices a big hole in Team R’s formation to his right 

and pooches the kick in that hole and K26 catches the ball in flight 15 yards past K’s restraining line. The 

nearest R player is 5 yards away with no chance to catch the ball.  K26 runs 6 more yards before going 

out-of-bounds. The ball never touched the ground. 

Ruling:  K26 committed kick-catch interference, and the ball will be dead at the spot of the catch.  K can 

never touch a free kick in flight even when there is no receiver in the vicinity.  R may accept the results of 

the play, an awarded fair catch after enforcement of a 15-yard penalty from the spot of the foul, or a 15-

yard penalty from the previous spot and replay the kick down. Rule 6-5-6. 

Comment:  If R accepts the awarded fair catch after enforcement of the 15-yard penalty from the spot of 

the foul, this will give R the ball at the K 40-yard line.  R can kick a field goal from a free-kick formation from 

the awarded fair catch spot.  Rule 8-4-1a. 

 

Training Videos 

This week’s training video features two play that are interesting.   

Clip 1 shows the tight end on the near side covered up by the wide receiver.  The TE goes downfield and 

catches the TD pass.  Wing officials need to recognize that an eligible number is covered up and be alert 

when he goes downfield.  Please discuss how crew members can communicate this information amongst 

each other.  Whose key is the tight end?  And the wide receiver?  Please review Rules 7-5-12 and 7-5-13 

that cover Ineligibles Downfield and Illegal Touching. 

In Clip 2, the clock is running near the end the game.  The team that is behind 24-21 is on defense.  4th 

down.  With 11 seconds left in the 25-second clock, the receiver on the far side commits a false start on 

purpose.  A flag is thrown, the penalty is enforced and the game clock is re-started which ends the game.  

This is an example of when the Referee should invoke Rule 3-4-6 and re-start the game clock on the snap.  

Please review when to use Rule 3-4-6. 

Here is the link to both videos.  Remember, you must be signed in to the Central Hub to view them. 

http://osaafootball.arbitersports.com/front/105991/Video/player/13777/16668  
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