
2016 Regular Season Bulletin #1 

 
Horse-Collar Tackle 

 

Question: Is grabbing the jersey on the name plate (back of the player's jersey above the 

numbers) and pulling the player to the ground within the scope of 9-4-3k? 

 

Answer:  Grabbing a player’s jersey at the name plate is not a part of Rule 9-4-3k.  9-4-

3k means exactly what it says.  For there to be a foul, the grabbing has to include the 

inside back or side collar of the jersey or shoulder pads.  No more, no less.  If a runner is 

grabbed by the back of the jersey and pulled down, that’s a legal tackle.  What you are 

talking about is an NFL change for 2016 which makes the grabbing you describe illegal.   

 

Helmet Coming Off 

 

Two players had their helmets come off on separate plays and neither player was required 

to sit out a play. The Referee thought that if the helmet came off as a result of contact 

that was not a foul, the player could remain in the game.  Please review Rules 3-5-10d 

and 9-6-4g. 

 

Pads Covered by Jerseys 

 

Rule 1-5-1b(1) says jerseys “must completely cover the shoulder pads and all pads worn 

above the waist…”  In keeping with the intent and spirit of this rule, Brad has allowed pads 

that cannot be covered by the jersey to be covered with legal undergarments.  Long-

sleeve t-shirts, sweat shirts, long underwear and sleeves that have been pulled up are all 

approved ways to cover pads that cannot be covered by the jersey.  Remember, the 

undergarment must not have any sticky or slippery substance on it that would interfere 

with the ball or an opponent. 

 

Incomplete Pass 

 

Play:  Beyond the line of scrimmage A85 jumps to receive a forward pass and, while still 

in the air, tosses the ball back to A30 who muffs the backward toss.  Since A85 did not 

contact the ground before the toss, is the result an incomplete pass?   

 

Ruling:  Incomplete pass.  A85 did not make a catch because he never returned to the 

ground inbounds and satisfied the definition of a catch.  A85’s “tossing” of the ball is not 

a muff because the act is intentional.  Therefore, the only definition that A85’s action 

meets is a bat, and Rule 9-7-3 tells us that a pass in flight may be batted in any direction.  

Therefore, when A30 muffs A85’s bat, you have an incomplete pass. 

 

 



Mouthpieces 

 

We are starting to see designer mouthpieces with animal teeth as pictured below.  Brad 

has asked Bob Colgate, Editor of the NFHS Rules Book for an opinion on the legality of 

these mouthpieces.  Mr. Colgate’s opinion is that these mouthpieces ARE ILLEGAL 

equipment per Rule 9-5-1a as they may endanger ill will.  Please remind players that they 

must remove the offending mouthpiece before they are allowed to participate. 
 

 

 
 

 

Illegal Bat 

 

Play:  Fourth and 10 at the B-45.  K14 punts the ball down to the R 10-yard line where it 

is rolling towards R's goal line.  K80 bats the ball at the R 3-yard line into the end zone 

where the whistle sounds.  

 

Ruling:  Team R has two options: take the result of the play, a touchback, R’s ball, 1st 

and 10 at the R 20-yard line or enforce the illegal bat from the previous spot, Team K’s 

ball, 4th and 25 at K’s 40-yard line. 

 

Training Video 

 

This week’s training video features 16 plays from the 2016 LeMonnier training video 

regarding holding.  The link below will take you to the Central Hub where you can view 

the video.  Remember, you must be signed in to the Central Hub to view the video. 

 

http://osaa.arbitersports.com/Front/105752/Video/player/13765/16656  

http://osaa.arbitersports.com/Front/105752/Video/player/13765/16656

