
2017-18 NFHS Soccer Rules Book
Corrections:

Page 23, 4-1-1i(3): 4-1-1h(1) should be
4-1-1i(1).

Page 26, 4.1.1 SITUATION Q
RULING: (a) illegal.

Page 64, 13-1-2: 12-2-3 should be 13-2-3.

Page 77, State Association Adoptions:
1. 4-2-1h (EXCEPTION 3) should be
4-2-1h (EXCEPTION 2). 

Page 78, Comments on the Rules: 
4-4-1e should be 4-1-1e.

Webinar Dates: Fall – September 14,
2017 at 2:00 p.m. EST; Spring – April
5, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. EDT

The Rule Proposal Form is now open
for use.

SITUATION 1: If a player was appar-
ently injured when fouled and a cau-
tion or disqualification resulted, can
the player be evaluated by the referee
for a possible injury and remain in the
game? RULING: Stopping the clock
for an injury is key. In this situation,
the clock was not stopped for an injury.
If the clock is stopped for another rea-
son other than an injury and then it is
noticed there is a possible injury to a

field player or goalkeeper, the field
player or goalkeeper would not have
to leave the game. [3-3-2b(2)]

SITUATION 2: During the game,
while the ball is in play, A1 wears an
electronic heart monitor on his/her
chest, under the jersey. RULING:
Legal. (12-8-1e)

SITUATION 3: Can a player wear a
solo shot tag for a camera, either on
the arm or around the waist during
the game? RULING: The solo shot
camera tag or any other tag cannot be
worn during the game as it would
require the wearing of a hard and
unyielding item. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 4: A2, taking a penalty
kick, approaches the ball and then
stops abruptly. He/she then (a) kicks
the ball and scores; (b) kicks the ball
over the goal; (c) kicks the ball and it
rebounds from the goalkeeper; (d)
kicks the ball and it is saved and held
by the goalkeeper; (e) kicks the ball
and it is deflected over the goal line
by the goalkeeper. RULING: In (a),
retake the kick; (b) goal kick; (c) indi-
rect free kick for defending team; (d)
play continues; (e) indirect free kick
for the defending team. (14-1-4)

SITUATION 5:A2, in an offside posi-
tion, receives the ball from a mis-

played clearance by B2. Should the
attacker be penalized? RULING: No.
A2 received the ball from a deliberate
play by B2 and even though A2 is in
an offside position and gained an
advantage from being in that posi-
tion, he/she is not offside as it was last
played by a defender in a deliberate
manner. (11-1-4)

SITUATION 6: A1 takes a shot on
goal. With the goalkeeper out of posi-
tion, B1 makes a deliberate save and
the ball rebounds directly to A2, who
is in an offside position. RULING:
Offside. Player A2 received the ball
directly from a save, was in active
play and gained an advantage by
being in that position. (11-1-4)

SITUATION 7: A1, in her defensive
third of the field, passes a ball across
midfield toward the goal. A2, in an
offside position at the time of the pass,
runs toward the ball causing goal-
keeper B to come out of the goal area
to defend the pass. There are no other
players from Team A advancing
toward the ball, but there appears to
be an impending collision between A2
and the goalkeeper. RULING: Offside.
An indirect free kick for Team B shall
be awarded where A2 was when she
became involved with active play by
interfering with the goalkeeper.
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